Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Trilok Gurtu - Believe (1994)

1994's Believe continued the assault on Western music precepts that Indian percussionist Trilok Gurtu had been engaged in for more than a decade. This time out Gurtu's sensibilities were coming much more from the West than from his traditional East. "Believe" begins as an electronic funk fest. Gurtu plays Western percussion. Guitarist Gilmore reaches deep into the fusion barrel with his somewhat rude and suggestive solo.
Track List
01. Believe 6:25
02. Vak 6:45
03. Carlinhos (Dedicated to Carlinhos Brown) 6:24
04. Offering 6:17
05. The Western Front 5:32
06. Fourth Moon 6:09
07. Protector 7:08
08. Sidewalk 5:57

Trilok Gurtu - drums, tabla, voice, dhol, waterdrums, percussion
Daniel Goyone - piano, electric piano, harmonium, synthesizer
David Gilmore - guitar
Chris Minh Doky - bass

Recorded at Ztudio Zerkall, Germany, July 1994
CMP Records CD 75

Format: MP3 CBR 320 Kbps